Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

UT Tyler Women's Basketball defeats UMHB for ASC Title

TYLER, March 3, 2014-- The UT Tyler women's basketball team made history on Sunday, winning the 2014 American Southwest Conference Championship over Mary Hardin-Baylor, 68-56.  With the win, the Patriots punched their ticket to the 2014 NCAA Division III Championship beginning next week.

UT Tyler, earning the ASC's automaticl qualifier to the NCAA tournament with the win, now awaits the NCAA Selection Show on Monday at 1:30 p.m. to find out where they will play in the first round of the NCAA National Championships. The show can be viewed live at http://www.ncaa.com/liveschedule/2014/03/03.

UT Tyler (25-3) and Mary Hardin-Baylor (18-10) played back-and-forth through the first half, with the Cru taking a 21-20 lead with six minutes remaining.

UMHB extended their lead, going up 31-24 on a Kourtney Bevers three with just under two minutes to play in the opening half.

Trailing 31-24, the Patriots' She'Cara Humphrey converted a three-point play, making the score 31-27 heading into the locker room.

UT Tyler returned from the locker room on fire, scoring the first 11 points of the half to go up 38-31 with 16:19 left to play.

The Patriots led for the next five minutes until the Cru's Jonelle Smith hit a three at the 11:55 mark, giving UMHB a 42-40 advantage - its final of the day.

Madison Wilson tied the score a minute later and gave UT Tyler the 43-42 lead on a free-throw with 11:02 remaining.

The Patriots offense took the control and closed the game on a 26-to-14 run, clinching the team's historic-win by a 68-56 margin.

Brittany King was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, finishing the championship game with 21 points and six rebounds.

She'Cara Humphrey and Madison Wilson were also named to the All-Tourney team, joining UMHB's Macey Moore and Jovana Miles.

This was the first ASC Tournament Championship for UT Tyler.  Head coach Kevin Baker is now 33-12 in his two seasons at the Patriots' helm.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.