Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

UT Tyler Men's Tennis clinches ASC Men's Tennis Title

TYLER, April 28, 2014— UT Tyler men's tennis defeated rival Texas-Dallas 5-0 to win the 2014 American Southwest Conference Men's Tennis Championship on Sunday, the sixth tournament championship in seven years for the Patriots.

Texas-Tyler senior Edward Timponi was named the ASC Tournament MVP after recording a 3-0 tournament record in singles play and dropping only one set.

The Patriots (22-3) opened play taking all three matches in doubles led by Chris Wootton and Henry Kelleher (8-5), Daniel Budd and Ryan Spencer (9-7) and Ramon Martinez and Justin Randell (8-4).

Randell also won in singles (6-2, 6-3) to clinch the championship.

With the win, the Patriots receive the league's automatic qualifier into the NCAA Div. III National tournament.

The NCAA DIII Championship will be held at the Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, Calif.

The NCAA team selections will be released May 5 with the individual selections coming May 7.

The NCAA team championship will be played May 19-21 with the individual championships scheduled for May 22-24.

All-Tournament Team

Edward Timponi, Texas-Tyler (MVP)

Ryan Spencer, Texas-Tyler

Ramon Martinez, Texas-Tyler

Daniel Budd, Texas-Tyler

Casey Clark, Texas-Dallas

Sander Kaasjager, Texas-Dallas

Erich Bein, Hardin-Simmons

Bishop Bass, Ozarks


Article by Jeff Williford

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.