Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

TJC Future Apache Scholarship Recipients named

TYLER, April 3, 2017--Two outstanding high school students were awarded $1,005 scholarships to Tyler Junior College in the Future Apaches scholarship event held Saturday, April 1, at TJC’s main campus.  The “Apache of the Week” scholarship, sponsored by TJC, was awarded to Grayson White of Big Sandy High School, while the “Cheerleader of the Week” scholarship, sponsored by Texas Spine & Joint Hospital, was awarded to Camden Brown of Lindale High School.

TJC Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Juan E. Mejia welcomed the crowd prior to selecting the scholarship recipients. Visitors were treated to giveaways as well as tours of the campus and residence halls.

“Congratulations to the two overall scholarship recipients as well as all the weekly winners,” said Dr. Mejia.  “The 25 students selected as “Apache of the Week” and “Cheerleader of the Week” are all very deserving, and we look forward to seeing many of them enroll in TJC this fall.”

Students, parents, high school leaders and others joined officials from TJC, Texas Spine & Joint Hospital and Alpha Media Group Saturday as the names of weekly winners were entered into a drawing for an overall winner in each scholarship category. 

During the 2016 football season, 25 students were nominated by leaders at their respective high schools for demonstrated excellence and tenacity.

Future Apache of the Week winners: (Sponsored by Tyler Junior College)

Jadyn Holt – Lindale HS

Mikayla Lunsford – Harleton HS

Elsa Li – Brook Hill Academy

Tristan Boyce – Union Grove HS

Naomi D’Arbell – Longview HS

Breona Simpson – Carthage HS

Brooklyne Bond – Hughes Springs HS

Thomas Hadley – Arp HS

Mohamed Shehadeh – Hallsville HS

Grayson White – Big Sandy HS

Spencer Liles – Tatum HS

Gavin Flanagan – Overton HS

Cheerleader of the Week winners:  (Sponsored by Texas Spine & Joint Hospital)

Camden Brown – Lindale HS

Mady Slone – Harleton HS

Courtney Harris – Spring Hill HS

Raegan Hayes – Brook Hill Academy

Dacie Dyess – Union Grove HS

Miayah Miller – Longview HS

Savannah Pride – Carthage HS

Kali Calcote – Hughes Springs HS

India Holland – Arp HS

Megan Fletcher – Hallsville HS

Annah Pichette – Big Sandy HS

Ryan Gibson – Tatum HS

Hannah Osburn – Overton HS

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.