Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

Piranha season opener at Lufkin Time Trials

PALESTINE, June 16, 2014— The Palestine YMCA Piranha Swimming Team officially began their 2014 season by competing at the Lufkin Time Trials last Saturday, in the Lufkin Swim Center. The event was hosted by Ambush Swimming of the Boys and Girls Club of Lufkin and featured 250 swimmers.

“After only one full week of practice, the Time Trials is a great opportunity to see what our swimmers remember from last year and what needs work this year,” commented Coach Kathrine Newton. 

According to Newton,  the Piranhas apparently had good memories if the first place finishes of Kacie Kimbrough (11) in 50 yard freestyle (28.98), Madison Crader (11) in 50 yard breaststroke (36.78) and Summer Hagan (14) in 50 yard butterfly (31.54) were any indication. 

Joining the trio, by placing in the top eight in at least one event in their age group, were Chase Fields (11), Rosa Hernandez (15), and Eli West (18).

Rounding out the Piranha roster competing in Lufkin was John Berry (10), Serena Coker (14), Grace An George (11), Morghyn Harper (14), Alex Hassell (11), Jacob Hatfield (15), Alex Hernandez (13), Taylor Rosson (15), Sam Veneris (11), Sydney Veneris (10), and Ian West (15).

The Piranhas are members of the East Texas Summer Swim League (ETSSL) which is comprised of eleven teams from Athens, Lufkin, Longview, Marshall, Mount Pleasant, Nacogdoches, and Tyler.  .

This is Newton’s sixth year as head coach of the Piranhas. She is a USA Swimming and American Swim Coaches Association (ASCA) Level 2 certified coach. 

For more information regarding the Piranhas, other YMCA summer aquatic programs, and the City of Palestine Pool schedule please contact the YMCA by calling 903-729-3139, stop by 5500 N. Loop 256, or visit www.palestineymca.org.   


Photo: Palestine YMCA Piranha Swimming Team Members (l - r) Chase Fields, Grace An George, Kacie Kimbrough, and Madison Crader looking forward to competing at the 2014 Lufkin Time Trials at the Boys and Girls Club Lufkin Swim Center.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.