Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

LETU athletics present 2017 department and Winter/Spring Sports Awards

LONGVIEW, April 28, 2017--The LeTourneau University athletic department hosted its annual Winter/Spring Sports Banquet on Monday, April 24. Eight winter and spring sports (men's and women's basketball, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, baseball and softball) presented their team awards to recognize achievements, both on and off the field, court and course.

Also presented at the banquet were the annual LETU Athletic Department Awards including the R.G. LeTourneau Legacy Award, Male and Female Athlete of the Year and Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

This year's winners were nominated and selected by votes of the head coaches and athletics staff.

R.G. LeTourneau Legacy Award: Whitney Judd (Women's Cross Country/Softball)

Female Athlete of the Year: Stephanie Vana (Women's Soccer)

Male Athlete of the Year: Jeff Martin (Men's Basketball)

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Lizzie Duffy (Women's Cross Country)

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Taber Miyauchi (Men's Cross Country)

Taber Miyauchi and Lizzie Duffy, as winners of the scholar-athlete awards, will be nominated for the American Southwest Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

The individual sports gave out their end-of-season awards and can be found below.

Women's Basketball Awards

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Crystal Jones and LaTanya Drakes

Defensive Player of the Year: Bria Goodman

Servant Leadership Award: Jada Roberts

Men's Basketball Awards

All In Award: Erick Roberson

Leadership Award: Jeff Martin

Above & Beyond Award: Gil Williams

Women's Golf

Academic Award: Alisa Wilson

MVP Award: Faith Williams

YellowJacket Award: Alisa Wilson

Men's Golf

Academic Award: Nathan Kleoppel

Co-MVP Awards: Seth Walters and Mason Terry

YellowJacket Award: Seth Walters

Women's Tennis Awards

Most Improved: Mikayla Thomas

YellowJacket Award: Hayley Hunter

Spirit & Leadership Award: Rachel Morisseau

Men's Tennis Awards

Most Improved: Josh Mueller

YellowJacket Award: Jimmie Henson and Christian Farris

Spirit & Leadership Award: Ty Grove

Softball Awards

Offensive MVP: Courtney Matulis

Defensive MVP: Whitney Judd

True Grit Award: Ashlin Roach

Baseball Awards

Team MVP: Kyle Jacobs

Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Harlan

YellowJacket Award: Josh Raies

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.