Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

ASC Announces WBB Championship Tournament Bracket

RICHARDSON, February 25, 2014-- The American Southwest Conference announced on Monday the bracket for the 2014 ASC Women's Basketball Championship Tournament, with Texas-Tyler earning the No. 1 seed after claiming the league regular season title. The 2014 event will be played Friday through Sunday, February 28-March 2, at the Herrington Patriot Center in Tyler, Texas.

Texas-Tyler (22-3, 20-2 ASC) will host its first Championship since 2008 and second overall. The Patriots, who set a team record in conference and overall wins, are one of just three ASC teams to reach the 20-win mark in league play. Junior Brittany King, an all-tournament selection in 2013, returns to lead the Patriots run for their first ASC Tournament title. Texas-Tyler makes its second consecutive ASC Tournament appearance and fourth overall.

Defending ASC Tournament champion Texas-Dallas (20-5, 17-5 ASC), will defend its title as the No. 2 seed. Senior Morgan Kilgore, the 2013 ASC Tournament MVP, leads a Comets team making their eighth consecutive tournament appearance and has won 20 or more games overall in each of the last four seasons.

Mary Hardin-Baylor (16-9, 16-6 ASC) is the No. 3 seed. The Cru makes their second consecutive tournament appearance and 10th overall. Howard Payne (16-9, 15-7 ASC) will enter the tournament as the No. 4 seed. A five-time ASC champion, the Lady Jackets lead the league with a 19-6 tournament record and 12 postseason appearances.

Louisiana College (15-10, 13-9 ASC) is the No. 5 seed and makes its seventh consecutive tournament appearance and eighth overall. The Lady Wildcats have played in the last three ASC Championship finals and appeared in the last two NCAA Division III tournaments.

Ozarks (10-15, 9-13 ASC) claimed the No. 6 seed and makes its seventh tournament appearance and first since 2012. Concordia Texas (11-14, 9-13 ASC) is the No. 7 seed and makes its third straight tournament appearance and fourth overall. Ozarks and Concordia Texas split their regular season meetings, but Ozarks won the tiebreaker for the No. 6 seed based on a better record against Howard Payne.

LeTourneau (11-114, 9-13 ASC) is the No. 8 seed and makes its first tournament appearance since 2003 and second overall.

The tournament will tip off at Noon, on Friday, Feb. 28, as No. 3 Mary Hardin-Baylor takes on No. 6 Ozarks, followed by No. 2 Texas-Dallas facing No. 7 Concordia Texas at 2:30 p.m. In the evening, No. 4 Howard Payne will face No. 5 Louisiana College at 5:00 p.m., and No. 1 Texas-Tyler will play the late game at 7:30 p.m., against No. 8 LeTourneau.

The ASC Championship semifinals will be played on Saturday, March 1. Game five will tip at 1:00 p.m., and game six is scheduled for a 3:30 p.m., start time. The championship game will start at 2:00 p.m., on Sunday, March 2.

Three of the teams in the 2014 ASC Championship have won tournament titles. Texas-Dallas (2013), Louisiana College (2010) and Concordia Texas (2012) have each hoisted the trophy since 2010. Six teams have won the championship on their home court with the most recent coming in 2011 when Howard Payne won its fifth ASC Championship.

The 2014 ASC Championship Tournament is the 16th postseason event in league history dating back to 1999. The winner of the Championship earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Championship.

To follow the ASC Championship online, follow the tournament on Twitter with the hashtag #ASCHoops.


Article by Jimmy Glenn

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.