Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

UT Tyler Muntz Library Director Appointed to State Board

TYLER, August 20, 2014— The University of Texas at Tyler Robert R. Muntz Library director Jeanne Standley has been appointed to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission’s TexShare Advisory Board.

A UT Tyler alumna, Standley has served the university since 2000.

TexShare is a cooperative program designed to improve library service to Texans. TexShare focuses on the efficient sharing of library holdings, with an emphasis on electronic information resources and traditional collections of books and journals. In this role, Standley represents publicuniversities, replacing Farzaneh Razzaghi, UT Pan American dean of library.

“The TexShare Program is a great example of the efficiencies that are realized for all library users when Libraries work together,” Standley said. “I believe strongly in the value that libraries, regardless of size or type, can bring to the citizens of Texas and their communities. I’m honored and excited to receive this appointment.”

She has represented libraries at the national, state and local levels through her involvement with American Library Association’s Library Leadership & Management Association, including service on the Library Partnerships Committee and participation in the TALL Texans Leadership Institute and the Texas Council of Academic Libraries, including a term as member-at-large for the Texas Council of State University Librarians. Standley also participated in the TexShare 2012 Statewide Strategic Planning Summit.

During her 30 years of experience in the field,Standley has focused on the delivery of instruction and resources to users,serving as an interlibrary loan librarian, head of access services, librarywebmaster, head of reference and library director.

She holds a bachelor of arts degree from Midwestern State University as well as master’s degrees from the University of North Texas and UT Tyler.

The TexShare Advisory Board is appointed by the State Library Commission and is charged by statute to advise the Commission on matters relating to the TexShare consortium.

The advisory board includes representatives from community colleges, private universities, publicly-funded academic institutions, public libraries, as well as two representatives of the general public.

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.