Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

UT Tyler Administrator named American Council on Education Fellow

TYLER, March 28, 2013-- Dr. Howard Patterson, vice president for administration and government relations at The University of Texas at Tyler, is among the 2013-14 class of the American Council on Education Fellows Program, UT Tyler President Rodney Mabry announced.

Patterson is one of 50 senior-level faculty and administrators in higher education nationwide selected by the ACE to participate in the program, which combines retreats, interactive learning opportunities, campus visits and observations to condense years ofon-the-job experience and skills development into a single year.

“I am honored to represent The University ofTexas at Tyler as its first ACE Fellow,” Patterson said. “It’s a recognition of the great things happening at UT Tyler and of the contributions to date. Working initially with Dr. Dale Lunsford and for the past five years with Dr. Mabry has given me tremendous insight in to the working of a university.”

As an ACE Fellow, Patterson will observe and work with a college or university president and other senior officers at a host institution, attending decision-making meetings and focusing on issues of concern. Fellows also conduct projects that will contribute to the institutional capacity of their home campuses. Participants also engage in other leadership and management activities to enhance their knowledge about the challenges and opportunities confronting higher education.

“The 2013-14 class of Fellows is a talented, diverse group,” said Margarita Benítez, interim director of ACE’s Emerging Leaders Group and the ACE Fellows Program. “The ACE Fellows Program will strengthen their leadership skills, expand their networks and prepare them to tackle the wide array of issues facing the higher educationcommunity.”

Serving UT Tyler since 2001, Patterson holds degrees from Springfield College in Mass., MidwesternState University in Wichita Falls and the University of North Texas in Denton.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.