Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

TVCC inducts students into Phi Theta Kappa

ATHENS, March 26, 2013--More than 50 new faces were added to the ranks of Phi Theta Kappa this week during an induction ceremony at Trinity Valley Community College.

Iota Alpha, the TVCC branch of the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society, is comprised of outstanding students at TVCC’s four campuses. Students are eligible to join Iota Alpha if they have earned at least 12 semester hours of transferrable credit at TVCC with an overall grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. The organization provides opportunities for leadership and service development. The group also provides members with an intellectual climate for fellowship and discussions on pertinent topics. The organization developed in Missouri in 1910. Today Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with chapters located in all 50 states as well as several other countries.

Iota Alpha was named one of the honors fraternity’s top 10 chapters last year.

Students who were recently inducted into Iota Alpha are (listed alphabetically by hometown):

ATHENS: Adam Charette, Tanner Choate, Paula Contois, Parker Fincher, Nancy Galvan, Lauren Green, Madeline Harrell, William Hopper, Channing Horton, Kacie Ingram, Douglas Johnson, Juan Lopez, Tiffany Sexton, Kaitlyn Sloan, Caroline Whitaker

BEN WHEELER: Joe Elerson

BROWNSBORO: Brittanie Scheen

BURLESON: Nicole Wofford

CANTON: Anthony Gomez, Katherine Thomas, Natalie Watts

CRANDALL: Matthew Long

FRANKSTON: Cheyenne Gideon, Caleb Whitehurst


GUN BARREL CITY: Dawn Gray, Amber Gregg, Cliffton Rudman

HEARTLAND: Shaimariah Jackson, Lauren Stevens,

KAUFMAN: Melanie Reeves, Melissa Warner

KEMP: Brittany Albright, Dawn Barber, Margaret Floyd, Mary Franklin, Juan Montoya

KEMPNER: Macie Moses

MABANK: Justin Collier, Jessica Schaefer

MESQUITE: Allyson Braggs

MURCHISON: Kassandrea Buckalew, Tiffany Parker, David Thrasher

PALESTINE: Anna Clark, Mary Masters, Christopher Winfield

POINT: John Feistner

ROYCE CITY: Emerald Griseta,

SAN ANTONIO: Ada Hollifield,

SCURRY: Luis Garcia

TOOL: Barbara Baxter, Jordan Quintanil, Jordan Vanover

WACO: Lasecret Plump


PHOTO: Anna Clark of Palestine recites a pledge to uphold the values of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society during a recent induction ceremony in Athens.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.