Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

Texas Forestry Museum announces new Executive Director

LUFKIN, July 25, 2013-- Texas Forestry Museum Board of Directors announced, as their new Executive Director, Rachel Collins.

Collins comes to the Texas Forestry Museum with a dedication to education and a desire to encourage life-long learning in others.  Outdoor education and the public school system has been the focus of her career as a certified teacher and librarian. Collins holds a Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies and Master of Education degrees from Stephen F. Austin State University, and a Library Science Certificate from Sam Houston State University. Having earned over 250 hours of professional development with the Texas Environmental Education Advisory Committee and the Texas Education Agency, Collins has developed a love for teaching forest, environmental, and outdoor education. Collins has also earned a Certificate of Interpretive Writing with the National Park Service.

Rachel and her husband Jason are natives to Angelina County, and currently live in Zavalla. They have two young children.  All are avid readers and patch collectors, and enjoy museums, zoos & aquariums, exploring outdoors, and camping. They are members of Ozias Missionary Baptist Church, East Texas Paddling Club, and Pine Country Gem & Mineral Society.

“It is an honor to join the team at the Texas Forestry Museum, and be a part of providing opportunities for visitors to learn about our rich forest and sawmill town heritage. I am looking forward to the challenges of directing the museum, working with the great staff, and continuing the legacy it has already established.”

The Texas Forestry Museum, the only one of its kind in the state, preserves the legacy of the people, places, and products of the forests of Texas.  The museum is open from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, except for major holidays. The private non-profit organization has no admission fees, but appreciates donations to help keep the doors open to the public at no charge.

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.