Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

SCSO holds annual awards banquet , recognizes employees

SMITH CO., December 6, 2013— Numerous Smith County Sheriff's Office employees were recognized for their service during Thursday night’s annual Smith County Sheriff's Office Awards Banquet, which was held in the Galilee Room of Green Acres Baptist Church in Tyler.

Sheriff Larry Smith recognized employees who have served five, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years and 25 employees received awards for outstanding service during the past 12 months.

“I want the public to know that the Smith County Sheriff's Office has a great group of people who are dedicated to their jobs, their community and to service,” said Sheriff Smith. “These individuals deserve to be recognized for the long hours they work and the risks they take to protect the citizens of Smith County. I am proud of every single one of them.”


Civilian Employees of the Year:

  • Alicia Armstrong
  • Allyson Bunce

Telecommunicator of the Year:

  • Lakesha Ryder

Detention Rookie Officer of the Year:

  • Ronnie Lampkin

Detention Officer of the Year:

  • Blair Edmonds

Robert Britton Memorial Rookie of the Year:

  • Deputy Wesley Hicks

Dale David Geddie Memorial Peace Officer of the Year:

  • Deputy Corey Cameron

Plain Clothes Officer of the Year:

  • Detective Aaron Hinton

Don Pinkerton Memorial Supervisors of the Year:

  • Lieutenant Carolyn Brown
  • Sergeant Clint Benson

Commander’s Citation:

  • Sergeant Britan Marlow

Unit Commendation:

  • Smith County Sheriff's Office Special Services – Narcotics Unit

Sheriff’s Leadership Award:

  • Jeremy Thompson
  • Detective Jim Fortner

Sheriff’s Achievement Award:

  • Detective John Shoemaker
  • Sergeant Jeremy Black
  • Detective Tyrodrick Loftis

Sheriff’s Meritorious Service Award:

  • Mike Simmons
  • David Turner
  • Deputy Jeff Hobson
  • Detective Josh Caulkins
  • Trooper Nic Castle

Life Saving Medal:

  • Officer Lauren Fite
  • Deputy Shawn White

Sheriff’s Distinguished Service Medal:

  • Deputy Tim McDonald
  • Mike Simmons


Five Years:

Kimberly Bowser, Terry Brunk, Corey Cameron, Juan Cordova, Laquenda Daille, Christopher Garrison, Stephen Gilbert, Laura Griffin, Christopher Harris, Jacob Hart, Sandra Magouirk, Rebekah Massey, Larry Phillips, Christi Pierce, Christ Rainer, Marilyn Rolling, Dean Sanderson, Glenn Williams, Ronald Young, Jr.

Ten Years:

Floriberto Arroyo, Gerald Atchison, Justin Hall, James Sparks, Brad Williams, Hope Woods.

Fifteen Years:

Travis Breazeale, Dale Dixon, Brenda Johnson, Lt. Gary Middleton, Sgt. Susie Molina, Jose Rojas.

Twenty Years:

Sgt. Patricia Blalock, Sgt. Gerald Caldwell

Twenty-Five Years:

Hattie Boyd, Sgt. Mark Stinecipher

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.