Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

Presentation of prestigious Steen Award highlights DETCOG meeting

JASPER, May 13, 2013— The Ralph W. Steen East Texan of the Year Award will be presented during the 44th Annual Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) membership meeting and awards luncheon Thursday, May 23, at the Pitser Garrison Civic Center in Lufkin. The award was named after the beloved Past President of Stephen F. Austin State University, Dr. Ralph W. Steen.  It honors an individual who has played a major role in leadership and service to the 12-county region.

“The annual membership meeting is always special because it gives the DETCOG board of directors, members and staff, a chance to visit with representatives of the communities we serve,” says DETCOG’s Executive Director, Walter G. Diggles, Sr.  “The highlight of the meeting has always been the presentation of the Ralph W. Steen East Texan of the Year.  It is the longest running recognition of its type in the region.  What makes it special is that each new recipient is chosen by those who previously received the recognition.”

Several other presentations will be made during the luncheon.  The President’s Award for Outstanding Committee Work on behalf of a DETCOG board member will be announced.  The Stewart and Malone Memorial Scholarships and the DETCOG Employee Memorial Scholarship will be given to students from the region’s high schools.

This year’s special guest speaker will be Texas’s best known economist Ray Perryman.  He is the President and CEO of The Perryman Group, an economic research and analysis firm based in Waco, Texas. Perryman is widely known for authoring more than 2,000 trade articles, publishing a subscription forecasting service and a monthly newsletter, writing a syndicated newspaper column, hosting a daily radio commentary, and appearing regularly on National Public Radio.  He is a past recipient of the Outstanding Texas Leader Award and has been honored by the Texas Legislature for his “tireless efforts in helping to build a better Texas.”

DETCOG’s Board President, Jasper County Judge, Mark Allen, would like to extend an invitation to the public to attend.  The morning sessions are free and open to the public.  Luncheon tickets can be purchased at the door.  Anyone needing information may contact the DETCOG office in Jasper at (409) 384-5704.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.