Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

Law Enforcement Division award ceremony recognizes peace officers, private citizens

AUSTIN, August 30, 2013— The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Law Enforcement Division has recognized more than 30 peace officers from multiple agencies and four private citizens for their professionalism and dedication in serving the people of Texas.

The awards were presented by TPWD Executive Director Carter Smith and Game Warden Col. Craig Hunter at 10 a.m., Thursday at TPWD headquarters.

This year, the awards highlighted TPWD game wardens and state troopers from the Department of Public Safety who worked together and responded to the fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas earlier this year. The responding officers were instrumental in the success of response and recovery operations, as well as the actions of more than 350 other state troopers and game wardens.

Game wardens, fellow peace officers and private citizens who have saved lives on public waters were also recognized. Three recipients of this award were Asst. Commander Brandi Reeder, her husband, game warden Derek Reeder, and their friend Mike Amidon, who were recognized for saving the life of a kayaker who was struggling to hang on to the side of the kayak after he went underwater.

The Medal of Valor award was given to Game Warden Jacob Crumpton of Concho County who had put himself in the line of fire last May 26 to aid Concho County Sheriff Richard Doane after he was struck twice by a gunman who had already killed two people.  

Two special agents with the FBI, who have supported and offered continuing educational efforts for game wardens, were awarded the Director’s Award.

Also recognized, were TPWD employees and private citizens who have helped with fundraising and other administrative functions of the TPWD Law Enforcement Division, and special recognition was given to all game wardens who have served in the armed forces during a time of conflict.

The recipients are:


Director’s Humanitarian Award

Game Warden Capt. Kevin Davis- Llano County

Game Warden Kenny Lee- Kerr County

Game Warden Kevin Webb- Llano County


Director’s Citation Award

Game Warden Lt. Trey Shewmake- Cherokee County

Game Warden Brent Tucker- Borden/ Dawson Counties

Game Warden Kenneth Zuber- El Paso County

Game Warden Jason Campbell-Falls County

Game Warden Andrew Alexander- Bastrop County

Game Warden Jim Daniels- Hamilton County

Game Warden Mark Hammonds- Hill County

Game Warden Dayton Isaacs- Bosque County

Game Warden Trent Marker- Limestone County

Game Warden Jeff Powell- Ellis County

Game Warden Michael Serbanic- McLennan County

Game Warden Doug Volcik- Hill County


Director’s Life Saving Award

Game Warden Asst. Commander Gary Teeler- Travis County

Game Warden Asst. Commander Brandi Reeder- Travis County

Game Warden Derek Reeder- Aransas County

Game Warden Dewayne Noble- Rains County

Game Warden Derek Spitzer- Wood County

Game Warden Kris Bishop- Bastrop County

Game Warden Joann Garza-Mayberry- Caldwell County

Game Warden David Lewis- Brazos County

Game Warden Charles Tweedle- Castro/Parmer/Deaf Smith Counties

Game Warden Mallory Brodrick- Lubbock County


Medal of Valor

Game Warden Jacob Crumpton- Concho County

Veteran’s National Defense Service Award

Game Warden Capt. James Ranft (receiving on behalf of all eligible game wardens)- McLennan County


Director’s Award

Scott Boruff– TPWD Deputy Executive Director

Jeannie Munoz – TPWD Project Management Office

Larry Sieck – TPWD Project Management Office

Anne Brown – Executive Director Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation

Susan Houston – Philanthropy Director Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation

David Schmachtenberger’s– FBI Special Agent

Mike Rodriquez­– FBI Special Agent

Texas Department of Public Safety state troopers

Sgt. Victor Panicera – South Padre Island Police Department

Capt. David Blevins – U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Mike Amidon

Alex Campos

Mike Fugate

Gene Cozart

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.