Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

AC Concert Bands performing Fall Concert Nov. 19

LUFKIN, November 13, 2013— The Angelina College Swinging Roadrunner Jazz Band and the ACC Big Band will share the stage of AC’s Hudgins Hall at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 19th in the two bands’ annual fall concert.

Director Larry Greer leads the program, with his musicians resurrecting selections from contemporary music and jazz standards, as well as big band standards immortalized by legendary performers.

This particular performance will serve as a tribute to the late Wayne Dyess, who passed way earlier this year. Dyess was a professor of trombone and director of jazz studies at Lamar University, where he became assistant director of bands to now-president Jimmy Simmons.

Of Dyess, Simmons said, “The first thing that distinguished him was his spectacular ability to play the trombone. He was a world-class trombonist,” Simmons said. “Moving on, there was his ability to inspire those who worked with him and those he taught. And there’s probably not a high school student in the state of Texas and surrounding states who didn’t play an arrangement that Wayne wrote.”

Greer, a music instructor for AC’s Fine Arts Division, assembles his unique blend of college musicians as each semester progresses, measuring their talents to see just where they fit into the Swinging Roadrunner Combo. He then showcases those talents in fall and spring concerts that have become one of the area’s most popular musical attractions. 

The Swinging Roadrunners’ tentative program – with the possibility of an impromptu jam session breaking out at any time – includes “Blues in the Closet/Blues Walk” (O. Pettiford, S. Stitt); “Summertime” (G. Gershwin); “Little Suede Shoes” (C. Parker); “C Minor Blues” (J. Abersold); “Freddie the Freeloader” (M. Davis); “Doxy” (S. Rollins); “Fly Me to the Moon” (B. Howard); and “Little Sunflower” (F. Hubbard).

Performers for the Jazz Band include Blake Sorey (Lufkin), trumpet; Jordan Linstrom (Huntington), bass; Jason Park (Lufkin), drum set); Austin Roberts (Plano), percussion; Larry Greer, piano; and Keren Debose (Trinity), vocals.

The ACC Big Band fills its chairs with both local and student musicians. A 15-piece orchestra, the band is comprised of retired professional musicians, band directors, professionals from other fields and former students playing swing era tunes from the golden years of American music.

The band’s scheduled program includes “Doctor Blues” (P. Blair); “Four” (M. Davis, arr. by J. Berry); “Shadow of Your Smile” (J. Mandel, arr. by D. Wolpe); “Just the Way You Are” (B. Joel, arr. by W. Dyess, featuring Steve Cox on trombone); “Tequila” (C. Rio, arr. by W. Dyess); “Can’t Help Falling in Love” (E. Presley, arr. by W. Dyess); “Hound Dog” (E. Presley, arr. by W. Dyess); and “St. Thomas” (S. Rollins, arr. by M. Taylor).

Performers for the ACC Big Band include the following:

Saxophones – Kyle Gavanavitch (lead alto); Michael Parrish (alto); Dixon Shanks (lead tenor); Leslie Gunter (tenor); and Jonathan Wilson (baritone). Trombones – Robert Shanks, Jeff Sorey (lead), Lavan Watts and Melvin Eckman (bass). Trumpets – Dwain Forsythe (lead), Scott Williams, Ricky Gay and Blake Gunter. Rhythm Section – Eric Chinn (piano), Lee Miller (bass), Larry Greer (guitar) and Mark Saldana (drum set).

Tickets for the show are $4 for adults and $3 for senior citizens, students and children.

For more information, contact the AC Fine Arts Division at 936-633-5233.

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.