Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

AC Concert Bands perform fall concert April 25

LUFKIN, April 19, 2013--The Angelina College Swinging Roadrunner Jazz Band and the ACC Big Band will share the stage of AC’s Hudgins Hall at 7:30 p.m., Thursday, April 25, in the two bands’ annual spring concert.

Director Larry Greer leads the program, with his musicians resurrecting selections from contemporary music and jazz standards, as well as big band standards immortalized by legendary performers.

Greer’s special guest musician will be Dennis Dotson, a specialist in jazz trumpet currently serving as an instructor with the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas in Austin. Dotson’s professional music career spans forty years; he’s played in house bands in Las Vegas, free lanced in New York City and in Houston. Dotson has performed as a trumpet soloist in the Woody Herman and Buddy Rich big bands, in addition to performances with the Houston Symphony Orchestra.

Greer, a music instructor for AC’s Fine Arts Division, assembles his unique blend of college musicians as each semester progresses, measuring their talents to see just where they fit into the Swinging Roadrunner Combo. He then showcases those talents in fall and spring concerts that have become one of the area’s most popular musical attractions. 

The Swinging Roadrunners’ tentative program – with the possibility of an impromptu jam session breaking out at any time – includes “In Walked Bud” (T. Monk); “My Romance” (R. Rodgers); “Cantaloupe Island” (H. Hancock); “Nutville” (H. Silver, arr. by F. Mantooth); “Fly Me to the Moon” (B. Howard); and “S’morez” (C. Moore).           

Performers for the Jazz Band include Corey House (Lufkin), alto saxophone and drums; Michael Mendez (Lufkin), trombone; Spencer Tutt (Nacogdoches), trumpet; Christian Fant (Hudson), bass; Stephen Salas (Lufkin), piano; Chance Moore (St. Augustine), guitar; and Jason Parks (Lufkin), drum set.

The ACC Big Band fills its chairs with both local and student musicians. A 15-piece orchestra, the band is comprised of retired professional musicians, band directors, professionals from other fields and former students playing swing era tunes from the golden years of American music.

The band’s scheduled program includes “Take the A Train”, “Just Friends”, “Opus de Funk”, “Anything Goes” and “Softly as a Morning Sunrise.”

Performers for the ACC Big Band include the following:

Saxophones – Ryan Stovall (lead alto); Michael Parrish (alto); Dixon Shanks (lead tenor); Leslie Gunter (tenor); and Jonathan Wilson (baritone). Trombones – Robert Shanks, Jeff Sorey (lead), Lavan Watts and Melvin Eckman (bass). Trumpets – Dwain Forsythe, John Cavanaugh, Mel Miller and Brad Comeaux. Rhythm Section – Eric Chinn (piano), Lee Miller (bass), Larry Greer (guitar) and Mark Saldana (drum set).

Tickets for the show are $4 for adults and $3 for senior citizens, students and children.

For more information, contact the AC Fine Arts Division at 936-633-5233. 

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.