Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

string(74) "SELECT * FROM cms_feeds WHERE url = 'mlb-all-star-teams-announced' LIMIT 1"

MLB All-Star Teams Announced

Mon, 07 Jul 2014 07:25:57 +0000

Major League Baseball(NEW YORK) -- The 2014 Major League Baseball All-Star teams were announced on Sunday night. Toronto's Jose Bautista was the leading vote-getter among all players, garnering 5.6 million fan votes.

Joining Bautista in the starting lineup for the American League are Miguel Cabrera (Detroit), Robinson Cano (Seattle), Josh Donaldson (Oakland), Derek Jeter (New York), Nelson Cruz (Baltimore), Adam Jones (Baltimore), Mike Trout (Baltimore)  and Matt Wieters (Baltimore). Boston's John Farrell will be the manager after leading the Red Sox to the World Series last year.

Baltimore led the AL with three starters voted into the lineup. Wieters, who is injured and cannot play, was replaced by Kansas City's Salvador Perez. The Athletics boast the best record in the bigs and lead every team with six total selections. Other notables on the AL squad include pitchers Yu Darvish (Texas) and Masahiro Tanaka (New York) along with Yoenis Cespedes (Oakland) and Victor Martinez (Detroit).

The National League will be led by Yadier Molina (St. Louis) and Chase Utley (Philadelphia), each of whom will be making their sixth appearance in the midsummer classic. Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Aramis Ramirez (Milwaukee), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Carlos Gomez (Milwaukee) and Yasiel Puig (Los Angeles) were also voted into the starting lineup.

Former Chicago Cubs pitcher Jeff Samardzija was voted a member of the NL squad but will not be allowed to pitch after being traded to Oakland. His spot was filled by Atlanta's Julio Teheran. The Dodgers Clayton Kershaw and St. Louis' Adam Wainwright headline the pitching staff for manager Mike Matheny.

The MLB All-Star Game will take place at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn. on Tues., July 15.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

© 2017 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.