Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

string(84) "SELECT * FROM cms_feeds WHERE url = 'cespedes-wins-second-straight-hr-derby' LIMIT 1"

Cespedes Wins Second-Straight HR Derby

Tue, 15 Jul 2014 04:45:06 +0000

Robert Binder/MLB Photos via Getty Images(MINNEAPOLIS) -- For the second-straight year, Yoenis Cespedes is the All-Star Home Run Derby champion.

The Oakland Athletics outfielder defeated the Cincinnati Reds third baseman Todd Frazier 9-1 in the final round Monday night to become the first repeat champion since Ken Griffey Jr. did it in 1999.

For the second-straight year, Cespedes had Oakland's third-base coach Mike Gallego throw to him.

Cespedes topped Toronto's Jose Bautista to advance to the final against Frazier, who beat Miami's Giancarlo Stanton in the NL semifinals.

Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig was the only player to not hit a home run in the derby. He's the first player to be shutout since Robinson Cano was in 2012.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.