Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

string(103) "SELECT * FROM cms_feeds WHERE url = 'finals-week-on-dancing-with-the-stars-begins-monday-night' LIMIT 1"

Finals Week on "Dancing with the Stars" Begins Monday Night

Mon, 19 May 2014 10:10:24 +0000

ABC, Inc.(LOS ANGELES) -- Dancing with the Stars is less than 48 hours away from crowning a new celebrity champion.

Will it be Amy Purdy, Meryl Davis, Candace Cameron Bure, or James Maslow? We may have a better idea on Monday night, when they perform twice. For their first dance, they will reprise their dance style from the "Switch-Up" week. In the second round, they'll take on a "supersized freestyle."

One celebrity will be eliminated at the end of the night. The other three will advance to Tuesday night's season finale.

Las Vegas oddsmaker Johnny Avello has named Amy Purdy the front-runner in the competition. The Paralympian says she's feeling the pressure that comes with that tag. However, she notes to ABC News Radio, "[E]ach week, there is pressure to a degree, you know?"

Olympic ice dancer Meryl Davis says she wants to win for the sake of her partner, Maksim Chmerkovskiy, who's yet to win a Mirrorball Trophy. She says, "I feel like I've already gotten so much out of this experience, and, I mean, I would be lying if I said winning wouldn't add to that."

James Maslow considers himself to be an underdog because he's not an athlete, like Purdy and Davis are. He says, "I think that the show has been pretty honest in giving Olympic athletes a bit of a leg up on this show, and I'm definitely not an Olympic athlete. But I like that, I thrive under pressure, so yeah, I think it's a great place to be."

Candace Cameron Bure is a bit of an underdog, too, but she's refuses to curry favor with fans by dancing to the Full House theme. She says as much as people would love to see that, she won't oblige.

Dancing with the Stars airs Monday night on ABC from 8 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Eastern time. The two-hour finale begins on Tuesday night at 9 p.m. Eastern time.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.