Personalize www.YourEastTEXAS.com

string(103) "SELECT * FROM cms_feeds WHERE url = 'experts-predict-good-things-for-breaking-bad-at-the-emmys' LIMIT 1"

Experts Predict Good Things for "Breaking Bad" at the Emmys

Wed, 20 Aug 2014 10:31:32 +0000

Frank Ockenfels 3/AMC(LOS ANGELES) -- The 66th Primetime Emmy Awards will be held Monday night at the Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles. Seth Meyers will serve as host of the ceremony, which will air live on NBC.

AMC's Breaking Bad, which ended its run last year, will go out on top at the Emmys, according to Tom O'Neil, founder of the Hollywood awards prediction website GoldDerby.com.

He tells ABC News Radio two-time Breaking Bad Emmy winner Aaron Paul could be victorious in the supporting drama actor category for his portrayal of Jesse Pinkman. "I'm betting on Aaron Paul to win again," O'Neil said, part of what he predicts will be "a huge Breaking Bad sweep."

Scott Feinberg, the lead awards analyst for The Hollywood Reporter, agrees, telling ABC News Radio, "I do think it's Aaron Paul's to lose, and it would be an unprecedented third win in this category if he does pull it off."

O'Neil also said Anna Gunn will be part of Breaking Bad's victory lap, and she'll take home another best supporting actress in a drama trophy. "Anna's got this locked up," O'Neil explains. "She won last year, this year she's back with an even bigger performance, this is 'Ozymandias,' the same episode Bryan Cranston submitted, it is the one where she has her baby ripped from her arms by her thug husband, she sees the world collapse around her, it is magnificent."

On this point, Feinberg agrees as well, with one caveat: "It really to me is between Anna Gunn and [Downton Abbey's] Maggie Smith, and I would not rule out Maggie Smith, but I am picking Anna Gunn. Because she won last year, I think she probably stands a very good chance to win this year for really the final episodes of her show."

Cranston is a nominee for lead drama actor, and Breaking Bad is a contender for best drama series.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

© 2018 Tomlinson-Leis Communications L.P.